Fox Searchlight

Directors Guild of America Awards 2017: DGA Picks Guillermo del Toro For Top Prize [FULL LIST]

The Directors Guild of America (DGA) Awards took place Saturday night in Beverly Hills, doling out their 2017 awards for film and television. Guillermo del Toro took home the Feature Film award for The Shape of Water, making him the rock-solid frontrunner to win Best Director at the Oscars. He previously won directing prizes as the Critics’ Choice and Golden Globe Awards, in addition to various critics awards.

Jordan Peele won the First-Time Feature Film award for Get Out, while Matthew Heineman won the Documentary award for City of GhostsCity of Ghosts isn’t even nominated for Best Documentary Feature at the Oscars, so that race is still wide open.

As for TV, top awards went to Reed Morano for The Handmaid’s Tale, Beth McCarthy-Miller for Veep and Jean-Marc Vallée for Big Little Lies.

Check out the full list of DGA winners for 2017 below:

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Feature Film

The Shape of Water – Guillermo del Toro

Dunkirk – Christopher Nolan
Get Out – Jordan Peele
Lady Bird – Greta Gerwig
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Martin McDonagh

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in First-Time Feature Film

Get Out – Jordan Peele

Lady Macbeth – William Oldroyd
Molly’s Game – Aaron Sorkin
Patti Cake$ – Geremy Jasper
Wind River – Taylor Sheridan

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentary

City of Ghosts – Matthew Heineman

Abacus: Small Enough to Jail – Steve James
Icarus – Bryan Fogel
The Vietnam War – Ken Burns and Lynn Novick
Wormwood – Errol Morris

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Dramatic Series

The Handmaid’s Tale (“Offred”) – Reed Morano

Game of Thrones (“The Dragon and the Wolf”) – Jeremy Podeswa
Game of Thrones (“The Spoils of War”) – Matt Shakman
Game of Thrones (“Beyond the Wall”) – Alan Taylor
Stranger Things (“Chapter Nine: The Gate”) – The Duffer Brothers

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Comedy Series

Veep (“Chicklet”) – Beth McCarthy-Miller

The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel (“Pilot”) – Amy Sherman-Palladino
Master of None 
(“The Thief”) – Aziz Ansari
Master of None (“Thanksgiving”) – Melina Matsoukas
Silicon Valley (“Server Error”) – Mike Judge

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Movies for Television and Mini-Series

Big Little Lies – Jean-Marc Vallée

Godless – Scott Frank
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks – George C. Wolfe
Story of a Girl – Kyra Sedgwick
The Wizard of Lies – Barry Levinson

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Regularly Scheduled Programming

Saturday Night Live (“Host: Jimmy Fallon”) – Don Roy King

Full Frontal with Samantha Bee (“#2061”) – Andre Allen
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver (“French Elections”) – Paul Pennolino
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert (“Joe Biden/Elton John”) – Jim Hoskinson
Real Time with Bill Maher (“#1527”) – Paul G. Casey

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Variety/Talk/News/Sports – Specials

The 89th Annual Academy Awards – Glenn Weiss

Amy Schumer: The Leather Special – Amy Schumer
Dave Chappelle: The Age of Spin 
– Stan Lathan
Full Frontal with Samantha Bee Presents Not the White House Correspondents’ Dinner – Paul Pennolino
Kennedy Center Mark Twain Prize Honoring David Letterman – Linda Mendoza

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs

MasterChef (“Vegas Deluxe & Oyster Shucks”) – Brian Smith

Dare to Live (“Chainsmokers”) – Adam Vetri
Encore! (“Pilot”) – Hisham Abed
Live PD (“Episode 50”) – John Gonzalez
Spartan: The Ultimate Team Challenge (“Season Premiere”) – Kent Weed

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Children’s Programs

Anne with an E (“Your Will Shall Decide Your Destiny”) – Niki Caro

15: A Quinceañera Story: Zoey – Matthew O’Neill and Thalia Sodi
An American Girl Story: Summer Camp, Friends for Life – Alison McDonald
Just Add Magic (“Just Add Meddling”) – Lily Mariye
The Magical Wand Chase: A Sesame Street Special – Benjamin Lehmann

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Commercials

Martin de Thurah — “Festival” (StubHub), “Machines” (StubHub) and “Mad World” (WealthSimple)

Alma Har’el — “Love Without Bias” (P&G)
Hoffman/Metoyer – “Anthem” (KitchenAid) and “Go Further” (Ford)
Miles Jay – “Alive” (Bose QuietComfort 35 Headphones), “Calling JohnMalkovich.com” (Squarespace) and “Who Is JohnMalkovich.com? (Squarespace)
Isaiah Seret – “Growing Up” (Samsung Galaxy), “I Love You” (Samsung Great) and “Never Too Composed” (Kohler)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.