American Society of Cinematographers Awards 2017: Nominations Include First-Ever Woman

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) announced their nominations for 2017, which included a history-making nom for a female cinematographer. Rachel Morrison, the director of photography on Mudbound, became the first woman in the group’s 32-year history to earn an ASC nomination. Other nominations in film included Roger Deakins for Blade Runner 2049, Bruno Delbonnel for Darkest Hour, Hoyte van Hoytema for Dunkirk and Dan Laustsen for The Shape of Water.

Morrison could also make history at the Oscars as the first-ever female cinematographer nominated in Best Cinematography. Lucky for her, this group tends to match at least 4/5 with the Oscars so it’s a very reliable precursor.

Check out the full list of ASC nominations for 2017 below:

Theatrical Release
Roger Deakins — Blade Runner 2049
Bruno Delbonnel  — Darkest Hour
Hoyte van Hoytema — Dunkirk
Dan Laustsen — The Shape of Water
Rachel Morrison — Mudbound

Spotlight Award
Máté Herbai — On Body and Soul
Mikhail Krichman — Loveless
Mart Taniel — November

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television
Gonzalo Amat — The Man in the High Castle (“Land O’ Smiles”)
Adriano Goldman — The Crown (“Smoke and Mirrors”)
Robert McLachlan — Game of Thrones (“The Spoils of War”)
Gregory Middleton — Game of Thrones (“Dragonstone”)
Alasdair Walker — Outlander (“The Battle Joined”)

Episode of a Series for Commercial Television
Dana Gonzales — Legion (“Chapter 1”)
David Greene — 12 Monkeys (“Mother”)
Kurt Jones — The Originals (“Bag of Cobras”)
Boris Mojsovski — 12 Monkeys (“Thief”)
Crescenzo Notarile — Gotham (“The Executioner”)

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television
Pepe Avila del Pino — The Deuce (“Pilot”)
Serge Desrosiers — Sometimes the Good Kill
Mathias Herndl — Genius (“Chapter 1”)
Shelly Johnson — Training Day (“Apocalypse Now”)
Christopher Probst — Mindhunter (“Episode 1”)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.